Björn Ekwall Memorial Foundation Award committee has announced that the winner of the 2022 Björn Ekwall Memorial Award (BEMA) is Dr Helena Kandárová, a senior scientist at the Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Centre of Experimental Medicine, Bratislava, Slovakia and ESTIV president. In the words of the committee, she is awarded the prize in recognition of her active involvement in the development, validation, and subsequent implementation of in vitro tests through acceptance in OECD, EU and other test guidelines. Her work on 3D-reconstructed human tissue models for topical toxicity and phototoxicity testing of chemicals, cosmetics, pesticides and medical devices has substantially contributed to the replacement of animal experiments.

The award will be presented at the BEMA ceremony at the ESTIV 2022 Congress followed by BEMA lecture of the awardee.